//
you're reading...
Jewish spirituality

A highlight of Kabbalat Shabbat in Jerusalem

Dear Friends,
This beautiful chant was a highlight of my kabbalat shabbat in Jerusalem last week at Nava Tehila. Ehyeh Asher Eyeh is the name God reveals to Moses at his moment of enlightmenment. It is translated as, I will be as I will be. God as a verb, as Life Unfolding.

As you listen, imagine my walk this morning on the Temple Mount.  With each step I walked and breathed with the priests and the people bringing offerings in the time of the Temple. I sat and meditated facing the Dome of the Rock, the Moslem Temple built on the rock where Mohammed is said to have hit his head and become enlightened ( my drosh, or take, my words for this), the same spot where Abraham and Isaac were tested, Mt.Moriah.  Today only Moslems are allowed to pray there; I prayed to myself. With each step,I rememberd Heschel’s words with Martin Luther King- I felt as if my feet were praying. And they were. And thenI sat down and coninued meditating, the thought, I’ve never meditated where it may be illegal to do this.

And all was well. The sun, the blue skies, passersby. The sense of interbeing that arose in me, that I was in this place where millions of people have brought and left prayers for peace, love, safety.

In peace, Roberta

About robertaindia

In the world with a peaceful heart

Discussion

24 thoughts on “A highlight of Kabbalat Shabbat in Jerusalem

  1. love this blog, Roberta, the peace you are being, bringing and doing, and you~

    much love,
    lynna

    Posted by lynna | January 31, 2010, 3:16 pm
  2. so glad you have met Rabbi Ruth and the Nava Tehillah. Chanting continues in the Jewish world…
    Travel well and peacefully,
    Tamara

    Posted by Tamara Miller | January 31, 2010, 3:54 pm
  3. You go, girl —
    Sending love across the miles —
    Sally/Shulamit

    Posted by Sally Klein | January 31, 2010, 4:18 pm
  4. Great chant. I hope I can actually catch the melody well enough to teach it.
    Lovely blog. Be well.
    Eva

    Posted by eva friedner | January 31, 2010, 4:51 pm
  5. Hi Honey!
    I love you and love hearing from your heart …. I am tempted to jump on a plane and join you for the next Nava Tehilah Shabbat …It is soooo cold here. Suresh is having a big drum circle to benefit Haiti today. Gotta go help!
    Loving you,
    Judith
    PS-Say Hi to Ruth, Yoel, Daphne and Ilan for me….

    Posted by Judith Dack | January 31, 2010, 5:07 pm
  6. sending my love and blessing
    thank you for carrying me in your heart as you make these journeys for all of us!!!
    Love-
    Rayzl

    Posted by Rayzl Feuer | January 31, 2010, 5:14 pm
  7. Sweet! Liked the 3 angels skateboarding by. Michael, Gavriel, Riphael followed by the light of Uriel in the setting sun. Kol hakavod.

    Posted by Moshe Tov Kreps | January 31, 2010, 5:23 pm
  8. beautiful

    Posted by stacy | January 31, 2010, 8:03 pm
  9. Hi Roberta,
    Just opened this on way to emergency room at Saratoga Hospital with Al. His right hand is all puffy and painful. Will read it when I have time but wanted to leave message so that I continue to get your postings.
    Much love,
    Syliva

    Posted by sylvia weinberg | January 31, 2010, 9:20 pm
  10. this is incredibly beautiful as are your words – your experience shared which opens me to deeper experience even here.

    Posted by Susan Hadler | January 31, 2010, 10:28 pm
  11. Roberta, How beautiful it is there. But extremely sad that the Muslims from the West Bank are not allowed in to Jerusalem to pray at the Dome of the Rock. Jane

    Posted by Jane Toby | January 31, 2010, 11:41 pm
  12. Hi Roberta,

    Thanks for sharing your journey….enjoy….see you soon.

    love,
    Nancy

    Posted by Nancy | January 31, 2010, 11:51 pm
  13. Thank you for sharing this chant and the unfolding of your journey. I love from you!
    Sending love and peace
    Yaffah

    Posted by Yaffah Schnitzer | February 1, 2010, 1:59 am
  14. I’m soaring from the music! Thank you for sharing this. I’m looking forward to hearing more. Love, Shepha

    Posted by Shepha | February 1, 2010, 6:17 am
  15. lovely!

    Posted by susan g | February 1, 2010, 4:19 pm
  16. Thank you

    Posted by Yitzak Dov (David) | February 1, 2010, 7:03 pm
  17. gotta love those Nava Tehila minstrels! Thanks for sharing this with us! And, may we travel to Israel together next year.
    loving blessings
    Nadya

    Posted by Nadya Gross | February 1, 2010, 11:58 pm
  18. beautiful, finding some meaning in this apparent separetedness, some day may there will be joint prayers from different backgrounds in those same grounds, thank you for your sharing!

    Posted by Eduardo Stern | February 2, 2010, 1:06 am
  19. Thank you for sharing the incredible Jerusalem atmosphere and your experiences.
    Best wishes, Etha

    Posted by Etha Jimenez | February 2, 2010, 9:51 am
  20. Beautiful, Roberta! Thank you for sharing your very enriching, nurturing journey

    Love, Vita

    Posted by Vita Roth | February 2, 2010, 12:49 pm
  21. Hi Roberta,

    You are indeed my spiritual sister. Thank you for sharing your keen observations and for sharing your spiritual and enriching insights of your experience in this journey to Israel.
    Love,

    Posted by Lucy | February 2, 2010, 5:12 pm
  22. Roberta,
    Wishing you every blessing on your journey!
    Zoe

    Posted by zoe | February 3, 2010, 3:03 am
  23. Walking with you my friend!! Are you still in Jerusalem?

    Posted by Jex | March 19, 2010, 1:48 am

Leave a Reply

